Remembering Chanel – Chimango Kankwamba

My abbreviation for her name – Chanel

Charming
Hopeful
Amusing
Nobel
Elegant
Love

You couldn’t tell her the sky’s the limit when there’s footprints on the moon
Our very own guardian angel taken away too soon
We look back at your life and all the memories we had
We can say with confidence Chanel-Lee Chante Easy you definitely turned out to be the best thing we ever had.

I just want to say Chanel was one of the most inspirational people I have ever come across in my life; I remember the first time I met her at BCC (Birmingham Christian Centre) we just became friends instantly. Words can’t describe how supportive and amazing Chanel was to me because there were so many times when I felt like giving up and Chanel would speak words of encouragement over me and my situation.

When I first told Chanel I was writing a book she was like no way and she supported me so much, we talked about book releases ect and how she would perform; she was there for me every step of the way and when I told her I’d finished she couldn’t believe it I remember her text it was the most uplifting text I had ever got from anyone, I just looked at it and cried.

She helped me through everything, family issues, boy troubles, book troubles everything; she was never judgmental or not willing to sit and listen to me go on and on about my troubles before putting my in check, our birthdays 9 days apart. Even though I was older Chanel had a head of wisdom on her and her advice was amazing. She talked to me about setting up her community projects and I supported her in the same way that she supported me – there was a skype conversation where she told me I inspired her I told her to stop being silly because she inspired me then her reply was “Chimango shut ya noise you have so much life inside of ya, look at ya you’ve done all this stuff with restoration, Guvna b and them lot … u inspire me end of.”

Chanel was one of those people who just reeked of passion to help others, you saw it in her eyes and in the way she lived life and as part of the Chanel-Lee Smile Foundation myself and a friend Ophelia Charles have sought out £11,000 funding to help start these community projects off.

Chanel, I love you and miss you daily and the dream of publishing the book is coming true… thanks for being who you are and I WILL NEVER forget the girl who constantly told me to shut up and embrace my talents.

Leave a Reply

