Remembering Chanel – Chanel Masih (Friend)

I write this tribute for a wonderful friend who was an amazing role model, Before writing this tribute I pondered for hours thinking about what I could write about a person who meant the world.

I thought about how we met at primary school almost 13 years ago, I thought about all those wonderful moments we shared together as we grew up, and I thought about all those tears we shed together. Words can’t describe how much of a big part Chanel played in my life.

We met 13 years ago at Whitecrest Primary School where we started to grow in faith and learning. I remember those summer strolls with our mums back to my house after school for Mummy Deborah and Mummy Aves to sit and chat for hours and both us Chanel’s to run riot and just do what we did best, love and look out for each other. We’d play games, sing songs, and make up great dances and then before it would be time for Chanel to leave we would put on a show for our mums and perform what we had been working on.

I wish I could turn back time and go back to that exact moment when Chanel and I sat in my room planning what our lives would be like 20 years from then. We planned to be famous and get married to rich people and then open our own fashion line and then give all the money we made to children less fortunate. That was what Chanel stood for.

I have many memories of all those great times we shared and they are what I hold on to now. Although we have lost a friend, daughter or relative we must always remember that her life will never go in vain. She will live on through this foundation whereby her ambitions to help others and love them will be fulfilled on her behalf.

Chanel believed in a greater world, and that very world will always love and cherish her. She was a beautiful girl inside and out who loved each and every thing with all of her heart and that’s what made her what she is. She was perfect, that’s all you can say about a person who meant the world.

I am free

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free,
I’m following paths God made for me
I took his hand I heard him call
Then turned, and bid farewell to all

And if my parting left a void
Then fill it with remembered joy
A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss
These things I too will miss.

Be not burdened, deep with sorrow
I wish you sunshine of tomorrow
My life’s been full I’ve savoured much
Good friends, good times
A loved one’s touch

Perhaps my time seemed all too brief
Don’t lengthen it now with all this grief
Lift up your hearts and share with me,
God wants me now… He’s set me free.

Leave a Reply

